I’m a little late on updating my resolutions for this year but I was recovering from some major dental work last week and just couldn’t focus on the pain meds.  Good news is I’m feeling much better and other than my jaw giving me some grief I’m healing well.

So before I get into this years resolutions, I’d like to take a brief look back at 2011.  One of the things I wanted to do was more panels/teaching.  I feel like this was the one thing from my list I got to accomplish.  Not only did I run a panel all by myself this year at Colossal-con Quat and I also got to do a presentation to an artist group on vintage kimono textiles.  Both were fantastic experiences and  have really fired me up for doing some more teaching based things this coming year.

Ok so on to this years resolutions!

1. I am not buying any more kimono or obi this year until I can get a few more basic accessories.  Things on my much needed list include new zori, new geta, and more obi-age.  I’ve come to realize that I really hate buying these particular items but I really do need them.  I’m just going to have to suck it up and shell out some cash for these babies.  What can I say, I cringe at these items because they are usually expensive and I’m cheap.

2. Make some sort of promotional material to hand out at panels and workshops.  I’m still playing around with the idea of business cards or pamphlets.  Also I need a lot of Quat’s input on this one but I’d really like to have these ready by spring.

3.  Acquire more research material: books, magazines, ect on kimono and kimono related culture.  I’ve thought about trying to write some informational papers for a local newspaper and want to round out my collection of these items some more.

 

I know the list is short but I feel like these are good things to accomplish in 2012.  Happy Year of the Dragon everyone!

 

