Notes?

So I know I’ve been lazy and I am just now getting around to posting these.  When I bought my juban almost 3 years ago I noticed that there was some folded up papers stitchedinto the lining of the collar.  As I’ve had no occasion until now to take the thing apart and wash it I never really thought about them.  Upon taking them out I realized there was quite a bit of writing all over them.  I have no idea what they say; probably just some scribbled notes or something but I’d much like to find someone who could try and translate them for me.  I’m not even sure if I have them right side up or not but I just thought it was kind of a neat little piece of history.  Here is the close up in case anyone can read it.

About reddelilah

I am an LMT by day and a Kimono and Geisha lover full time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Notes?

  1. Christina says:

    Oh, cool.🙂 Your close up is upside down, but the sheets laid out are facing in toward each other. So the top rows on each sheet are right side up, and the bottom are upside down.

    I once had to strip down a huge folding screen with paintings (long story), and the paper backing/padding layer was somewhat like this, but mine was obviously just calligraphy practice paper they’d recycled into paper lining for the screen backing. It wasn’t as nice or finished, but it did repeat words again and again like some of the characters in yours. (I’m not good enough at the sousho style to pick more than a few words out of things like this, though.)

  2. KimonoSuki says:

    Awesome find.

    There’s an IGF thread where someone is volunteering to translate things; you might try asking them.

Leave a Reply

