New hanhaba obi

So once again Ichiroya comes to my rescue. Since I have been such a studious student this quarter and I’ve been putting off buying anything for a while I decided to go ahead and treat myself. Tonight I spent several hours trolling different websites, including eBay trying to find myself a narrow(hanhaba) obi to wear with my yukata this summer.  As seen in previous entries my yukata is white with blue and pink cranes, often mistaken for manta rays hahahaha…  I really wanted a bright yellow obi to go with it since the blue and pink are really bright but just couldn’t find one that I liked and that I could justify spending a good chunk of change on.  The couple I found on eBay that I sort of liked ran about $30-$35.  So I headed back to trusty old Ichiroya and found this baby.  I paid about $23 for it with shipping and it’s brand new.  I actually really like it, it’s subtle and I’m becoming really, really fond of subtleties lately.  You can’t see it in this picture at all but it has tiny white flowers scattered through out it too.  I’ll have to practice my hanhaba obi musubi skills since it’s been near ages since I’ve had to tie one.

Next on the list is a good pair of geta, preferably with yellow or blue straps and in a nice light shaded palownia wood.  I found some cute ones on eBay that were not too bad but I opted for the obi today instead.   They had quite a few of them left so maybe by the end of the month I can get those ordered as well.  I may have an interview at a salon here in a few days so I’m keeping my fingers crossed over that.

Slowly but surely my collection is growing and with each new piece I buy I am becoming more confident in my coordination skills.  I am also learning what I really like and what just totally puts me off.  I’ll be 28 this year and I am finding myself being really attracted to more subdue patterns and colors…haha for some reason I think my subconscious is trying to tell me I’m and old lady.  Either that or I’m just really attracted to the idea of ‘iki’.  I think back to high school when I was very ‘goth’ and even then I always had a subtle flare for what I wore.  Eventually I’d really like to do a ‘Gothic’ themed kimono ensemble but it will probably be a few years down the road before I can amass enough items to pull it off.

Oh wow I’ve babbled quite a bit in this entry!

About reddelilah

I am an LMT by day and a Kimono and Geisha lover full time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New hanhaba obi

  1. KimonoSuki says:

    A yukata with manta-ray-like patterns? ^^ Awesome.

    • reddelilah says:

      Seriously, everyone that has ever seen it has mistaken the cranes for manta rays at first.

      ”Your fears are only what you make them to be.”

Leave a Reply

