Kimono tutorial book

As of right now I only have three kimono related books in my possession but I figured it would be nice to log them here and list how useful I have found them to be.  The book at left, which my friends cute kitty Pado decided to love on, is all in Japanese so I don’t know what the title is.  I’ll include the ISBN at the end of the post though.  This is actually the latest edition to my book collection and was a gift.  I have to say this has also been the most helpful to me as well.

This book shows many great examples of each type of kimono from most formal down to yukata.  There is even a page devoted to mourning wear although no information on men’s ensembles.  Lots of pictures and fairly light on the text so I found that even though I couldn’t read it I still got what was going on from the pictures pretty clearly.  There is a nifty map in the center of the book that I believe may pin point where certain fabric or dyeing techniques come from with in the country.  Near the back there is a pretty detailed dressing guide for both yukata and kimono including detailed pictures of all the accessories.  One thing I really like about this book is that the girl on the cover does not have the fold(Ohashori) at her waist meaning the kimono is slightly too short for her.  I find this encouraging since even a book like this seems to bend the rules slightly for dressing appropriately.

Here are two of the outfits I really liked from the book.  I love the Spring one especially.  It’s so soft and I love the falling petals over the water motif; just beautiful!  Someday I hope to be able to dress this well and look good while doing it!

Overall I give the book a 9 out of 10.  I’m sure there is a lot of good written information in here as well I just can’t comment on that.  Definitely something I would recommend though to someone who has a little bit of kimono knowledge; it’s a great reference work.

ISBN 4-418-05305-0

About reddelilah

I am an LMT by day and a Kimono and Geisha lover full time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kimono tutorial book

  1. Christina says:

    This looks like a great book: thanks for the review!🙂

    (The title is Kimono Nyuumon, or “Kimono Primer”, by the way.)

    • reddelilah says:

      Thanks so much for the name! It would makes sense since it is really helpful. I’d love to find more books like these.

      ”Your fears are only what you make them to be.”

  2. hannah says:

    can i ask where you bought it ??
    i reallly really realllllyy want it
    and need it😀

    thank you for sharing it😀

    • reddelilah says:

      I got it from an online retailer called Yamotoku. You should be able to look them up and I believe I also have their site on my links at the side of the page.

Leave a Reply

