Kimono in Anime

One of the things I like to do just for fun is try to find anime where the characters are wearing kimono.  It’s funny, I get such gleeful joy out of this and my fiance always looks at me funny when I start flailing about it.  I also like picking out if the artist is using artistic license or not.  This was also one of the topics Quat and Kelsey addressed during the panel at anime punch and I think it’s a nice tie in when giving a presentation at an anime convention.  Today I’m  putting up examples of kimono from a few off of  my well liked anime list.

Ai Enma from Hell Girl (Jigoku Shojo).  She is one of my all time favorite characters and is wearing her signature kiku furisode.  In other official art she is seen wearing other kimono but in the series you just see her in this.  The artist has the style down pretty well and there is nothing outrageously wrong with the kitsuke.

Aoi Misato from Tokyo Majin.  There are several scenes in which she is wearing kimono as she comes from a very traditional family.  She can also be seen in the series wearing nemaki(pj’s).  My best guess at what she is wearing would be an iromuji.  I also like how you can see her juban sleeve poking out at her wrist.

Three characters from Ouran Highschool Host Club but for the life of me I can’t remember their names.  I watched this series a while back and never got to finish it.  However I think this shows a nice depiction of summer yukata; both male and female versions.  Plus they have cute uchiwa fans with the other characters on them.  This originally wasn’t the picture I wanted to show as there is a scene where they are all dressed in very formal kimono but I couldn’t find it.😦

From left to right: Yohji Kudo, Ken Hidaka, Omi Tsukiono, and Aya(Ran) Fujimiya from Weiss Kreuz.  This was one of my first anime series and I still love it to this day.  You never actually see them wear kimono in the series but this is official art from one of the books they put out.  I think it shows a good depiction of mens wear that is a little more formal.

So anyway there it is some anime with good kimono references.  I’d recommend all four series to watch if you’re into that kind of stuff.  Also I’d love to know about some more series with kimono wearing characters.  If anyone can point me towards a good one let me know!

About reddelilah

I am an LMT by day and a Kimono and Geisha lover full time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kimono in Anime

  1. Aki_fox says:

    I also love finding anime characters in kimono! There are so many that it’s not even funny but very cute.

  2. Vika says:

    Hello, I think the three characters from Ouran High School Host Club depicted in that picture (from left to right) are Ootori Kyouya, Fujioka Haruhi and Suoh Tamaki. You can find several picture of the characters wearing kimono in here:




    http://static1.minitokyo.net/view/05/25/503755.jpg (summer time).
    http://static1.minitokyo.net/view/34/34/456734.jpg (shinsengumi >__<)

    Rurouni Kenshin/ Samurai X also depicted character wearing kimono ^_^.

Leave a Reply

