Japanese Kimono Designs

Shojiro Nomura

Tsutomu Ema

Copyright 2006 Dover Publications, INC

ISBN 0-486-44426-0

I received this book as a graduation present so I thought I’d do a review on it.  It is mainly a picture book with a short introduction about the history of kimono.  There is some terminology listed in this intro as well but I feel like it is a bit outdated since most of the pieces shown are from the 18th and 19th century.  The book consists of pieces from two private collections both cataloged in the 1930’s; one from Shojiro Nomora a respected expert on Japanese costume and the other are geisha pieces from the Kikyoya in Kyoto.

The book has nice big, colorful pictures with each piece getting its own page and a brief description at the bottom.  Sometimes the date of the piece is mentioned as well.  I think this book would be nice for someone who wants to know more about period pieces rather than contemporary kimono.  This book would not be appropriate for someone wanting to learn kitsuke or up to date terminology.

In my personal opinion I’d give the book a 6 out of 10 simply because there is very little actual information.  It is basically just a picture book.  The nice thing however is that these collections did get recorded and there are some beautiful illustrations of high-end kimono worn during the time.  I’m especially fond of the geisha pieces as I feel they are an important part of that culture.  This would make a nice coffee table book but I wouldn’t put it as a must have for a collection.

I apologize for the bad scans, the scanner is old and doesn’t like to cooperate.

About reddelilah

I am an LMT by day and a Kimono and Geisha lover full time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Japanese Kimono Designs

  1. Christina says:

    Thanks for the review! I’ve seen this one around before but wasn’t sure if it was worth getting.

Leave a Reply

