Furisode time

So today I did something I never thought I would do.  In fact I was pretty much resigned that I would never own or wear a furisode.  However…Yamatoku was having a massive furisode blow out and I just couldn’t help myself.  Some of them were going for as cheap as $6.99 and shipping wasn’t that expensive either.  I found this beauty at the right and well…she was $40 and has good dimensions to fit me.  I’m hoping that the color is true to the pictures because I really love it plus it’s not OMG GAUDY!  To me it feels a little more sophisticated and mature.  Of course like so many things I buy I have absolutely nothing to wear this with.  I don’t even own a furisode juban…but it makes my case for finally finding some fancier obi a priority.  I now need at least two, one for my tomesode and one for this lovely lady that will be joining my collection in approximately two weeks.  I’m not entirely sure what the flowers are; they may be another rendition of kiku.  I’ll have to look at the pictures more closely.  I’m so excited though!

About reddelilah

I am an LMT by day and a Kimono and Geisha lover full time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Furisode time

  1. I love it! It’s subdued and classy, while still having that young feeling with the red! (Red is my favorite color, so I’m a bit biased haha)

    I did the same thing….my second kimono was a furisode, and I had no juban or fukuro obi or even hadajuban….:/ But in the end, that was a good thing, because that meant I could fit the juban to the furisode, rather than the other way around! Plus, for some reason, I love shopping for fukuro obi….;p

    I can’t wait to see some kitsuke pics!

    • reddelilah says:

      I’ve been really wanting to dress up for a while now. It’s been over two months since I’ve worn kimono and I’m getting a little cranky…haha. Sadly my work schedule and everything else have been so busy and it’s hard to find people to take decent pictures of me.

      ”Your fears are only what you make them to be.”

Leave a Reply

