JSO spring festival and fundraiser for Tsunami

Last Sunday Quat and I attended the Japanese spring festival put on by JSO of Ohio State University.  As a part of the festival they were also doing a fundraiser for the victims of the tsunami that struck Japan recently.  There were quite a few booths and activity centers depicting aspects of Japanese culture, of of which was a simplified version of tea ceremony.  Now I admit I know next to nothing about tea ceremony except for the fact that it is supposed to reflect the small passing moments between people that we may never meet again.  It was truly a treat to get to experience it though and I quite enjoyed it aside from my legs going numb about half-way through.  I’m not very good at sitting seiza position for a long time yet.  I do realize that I am horribly  under-dressed for tea ceremony as well since I am wearing my yukata but the nice ladies didn’t seem to mind and were very happy that we were there.

Afterward we decided to walk around campus and take some shots with the blooming trees.  I decided to be silly and prove that you can do just about anything dressed in wafuku, hence ‘climbing’ the tree.  A very nice Japanese man stopped us to ask for a picture and several people asked if we were involved in the spring festival.  It was really a nice and special day even though the weather was cloudy.

Note:  This is the same morning glory yukata I wore to Ohayo-con in January and it’s still just as much of a pain in the butt to put on!

About reddelilah

I am an LMT by day and a Kimono and Geisha lover full time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

