Kimono Challenge #2

2. Your dearest kimono item(s).

This one is a little more difficult since I’m pretty attached to most of the pieces that I own.  If I had to choose though I’d have to narrow it down to these three items.

This casual komon was the first kimono item I ever bought and even though my husbands refers to it as the ‘couch’ kimono I’ve always been very fond of it.  It has some beautiful and subtle detailing that really appeals to me.

 

 

 

 

 

 

My burgundy furisode…yeah the furisode that I said I’d never, ever buy cause I’m technically too old to wear one.  I love to stylized kiku on it and the fact that it isn’t overly flashy.  It fits me perfectly too.

 

 

 

 

 

 

My Meisen haori with origami cranes.  It’s not in the greatest condition but the color is my favorite and my godfather used to make me paper cranes as a child whenever we would go to visit.  I always think of him whenever I get a chance to wear it.

About reddelilah

I am an LMT by day and a Kimono and Geisha lover full time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

