Uchikake

It’s been a while since I’ve been able to buy anything but I saw this and it was an amazing deal so I gave in.  Originally it had been posted on eBay as a buy it now special and I let it slip by once.  A few days later the seller re posted it with a very low starting bid price.  I continued to watch it off and on for a few days and finally threw out a bid with one day left.  I’m not sure how no one else bid on this but I got it!  In total I actually paid less for it than what it cost to ship!

The flowers on it I believe are Azalea which bloom in April and May.  Unlike most Uchikake it doesn’t have any metallic threads but there is a subtle peach and green shimmer on the back ground fabric.  It is lined fully in red as well with a generously padded hem line.  All of the flowers are embroidered and other than having a few minor loose threads and being slightly wrinkled is in very good condition.  Quat and I have been looking for one of these for panel demonstrations for quite some time so expect this piece to show up again.

On Friday I’m helping Quat with a photography project for school so we’ll be using this piece as well as some others for portraits.

About reddelilah

I am an LMT by day and a Kimono and Geisha lover full time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

