Kimono Hime and Meiji school girl style

Once again my kimono buddies and myself took a trip to our local conservatory for some pictures.  This time we did two very distinct styles of kimono dressing.  Yes my friends, kimono can have different styles!  It was really fun playing around with a different way of dressing that wasn’t traditional.

I wore a style similar to Kimono- Hime. (Hime translates as princess in Japanese)  It’s a relatively new style that started around 2003 with a publication of a magazine/book by the same name.

I chose to wear my burgundy furisode, boots and crazy Lolita style wig.  I tried to make this outfit as crazy as possible while still keeping some basic kitsuke rules in place.  Originally I had wanted a black obi but we found the gold one looked better over all.

 

 

 

 

 

Here is a link to more info->http://www.immortalgeisha.com/wiki/index.php?title=Fashion_Style:_Kimono-hime

 

My friends dressed in a more Meiji school girl style with ko-furisode and hakama.

Ko-furisode are shorter sleeved furisode that are typically worn with skirt like hakama by girls for graduation ceremonies in Japan.  This style was brought about during the Meiji era when young women started attending colleges.  The ‘big thing’ was to wear them with western style shoes.

Here is an interesting article talking about the  Meiji school girl->

http://hesomagazine.com/photographic/the-second-coming-of-shojo/

About reddelilah

I am an LMT by day and a Kimono and Geisha lover full time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kimono Hime and Meiji school girl style

  1. OMG I love the wig! It’s crazy and awesome a guh! Great coordination!😀

    • reddelilah says:

      Thanks! I’ve had to wig going on almost three years now. I’m glad I got the chance to wear it again. ”Your fears are only what you make them to be.”

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

