Second Hand

Over the past several years of collecting kimono and related items it always surprises me that sometimes things will pop up in second hand shops. I’ve found what appears to be a mens robe perhaps for use at a ryokan or hot spring type place. It’s obviously made for a bigger guys perhaps even foreign but it’s still neat. I’ve also come across another ryokan/hot spring woman’s piece at a local shop as well. Funny story about that is I’ve seen one just like it in a short Japanese horror show I have on DVD. Anyway the point is that you never know what you are going to find at a second hand shop and boy did I get a surprise the other day!
I have extended family living in Montana and my mother goes back 2-3 times a year for visits. This last trip she found something at a second hand shop she thought I might like and brought it home to me.

She hands me this beautiful brand new black yukata and my jaw almost hit the floor. She’d mentioned something about it when I had talked to her but I half expected it to be a tourist piece. I’m really happy with it! It has a cool texture to the fabric and I’ve secretly been wanting a black yukata for some time now but they can be rather pricey since black yukata are relatively in fashion right now. I know Quat thinks I’m crazy since black yukata kind of defeats the ‘cool’ purpose but I really do think it’s beautiful. The real kicker though is what she paid for it: $2.50! This will definitely be a piece I keep forever as it has such an amazing story behind it, plus…my mommy gave it to me.🙂
In short, don’t ever overlook a second hand shop. You never know what you may find!

About reddelilah

I am an LMT by day and a Kimono and Geisha lover full time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

