The Big 3-0

ImageMy actual birthday was on Wednesday this week but since I had to work we postponed dinner plans till tonight.  My best friend came over early and I got to dress her in yukata for the first time!  We were both very excited about it and she had a lot of fun getting to experience kitsuke.  She did my hair for me too in this niffty-twisty style but I never got a good picture of it from the back.  One of my co-workers came, my husband and four other close friends.  We had a nice dinner at our favorite sushi place and some delicious plum wine too!  Overall it was a nice way to spend my 30th birthday.  I finally altered the kimono I’m wearing to make it fit better.  I’ve had that outfit planned for near 2 years now so I was very glad to get to wear it finally.

ImageMy bestie Erin made me a lovely dream catcher and decorated the box with kimono origami; she is so sweet.

For those interested my outfit was a stream and kanoko patterned ro homongi with a black sha nagoya pattered with silver and burgundy maple leaves.  I think it’s a little early in the season still for maple/momiji but I really wanted to wear this outfit so I jumped the gun a bit.  Also, my collars were being so nice!  I know I don’t show a lot of juban collar like an old lady but they didn’t creep forward on me and I had a nice dip in the back the whole time!

EDIT: Since a fellow kimono fan asked, here is a full length shot.

Me being silly…

About reddelilah

I am an LMT by day and a Kimono and Geisha lover full time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Big 3-0

  1. OKToledo says:

    Heyyyy I know that kimono – it really does look lovely on you. I told you they are better than yukata.

  2. This kimono is really pretty! (And ro!) I don’t suppose you have a full-length picture?

  3. Rio says:

    Wow!!!!
    I think you dress kimono stylishly!!
    So beautiful!!!
    I’m Japanese,but I wear kimono only on special days.
    I am going to enjoy kimono on normal day too like you.

    • reddelilah says:

      I am so glad that I have inspired you to wear kimono more often! It truely gives me a wonderful feeling to wear this traditional Japanese garment.

Leave a Reply

