Taisho Michiyuki

I picked up this beautiful michiyuki/rain coat off of e-bay.  I just couldn’t resist the beautiful colors and Meisen weaving technique.  The fabric has this really cool aqua and plum iridescence to it and it is tissue paper light.  When I got it I wa thrilled to find that the sleeves had been taken up almost 5 inches!  Luckily there were no holes or stains so I just took the stitching out and pressed it.  I’m pretty sure since the weaving style is Meisen and the sleeves are so dang long that this is probably a Taisho era piece.  This period of time in Japan lasted  from 1910-1926 and was known for its beautiful and extravagant kimono.

 

 

 

 

 

Here is a shot of the lovely long sleeves.  Other than missing a few buttons, having some stitching coming loose and some very light water staining she is in pretty good shape.  I’m thrilled to have her in my collection.

About reddelilah

I am an LMT by day and a Kimono and Geisha lover full time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

