Some new arrivals

IMG_3084

I got to go and up some lovelies at the post office today.  This first is this beautiful spider mum haori.  I’ve always been attracted to this design and the beautiful red, white and gold of the flowers is breath-taking.  The material is incredibly light weight and the lining is in reasonably good shape.  I’ll  have to take some care when ironing this piece as it’s quite wrinkled and there are a few tiny holes I’ll want to mend as well.  I’m not particularly fond of the himo ties but those can be replaced.  I don’t know if I’ll wear this particular jacket with kimono or not as it is a touch on the small side and the sleeves are very short but it would look nice over slacks and a festive top.

IMG_3087

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_3088I also acquired this amazing obi!  It’s brand new; still with the basting stitches in it.  The motif is plum blossom and pine, a very ‘end of the year’ celebratory motif.  With the gold thread this is an obi I can wear with something more formal and I’d like to incorporate it in an outfit for New Years.  The lettering along the bottom is the name of the bolt maker and says something along the lines of ‘special order’ and then the company name.  As of right now I don’t have anything formal enough to wear this with yet…I heard a little bird say that I may be getting something from my husband for Christmas though.

About reddelilah

I am an LMT by day and a Kimono and Geisha lover full time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

