Book Review: The New Kimono

 

9784770031488_zoom

The New Kimono

From Vintage Style to Everyday Chic

The Editors of nanao Magazine

  • Paperback: 128 pages
  • Publisher: Kodansha USA (May 1, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 4770031483
  • ISBN-13: 978-4770031488

 

I feel like I’m a little late to the party in reviewing this title since it came out almost 2 years ago.  I finally got a copy though and was nicely surprised by its content.  There are select articles in this book from the magazine Nanao and the most helpful are the ones from women who wear kimono often or everyday.  The book has five chapters in total with many tips and tricks for dressing comfortably.  This book has definitely piqued my interest in wool kimono and now I feel like after reading this I can dress more comfortable and cool in the summer.  I really liked some of the ‘home made’ items they mentioned and look forward to trying those out this coming summer.  There is a small section in the back on how to wear kimono, nagoya, yukata and hanhaba obi.  These you can find in most kimono magazines or books but going through them made me realize that I need to practice more!  I’ve been skipping some steps lately that I had forgotten so I think this was a nice refresher.  Definitely a good book for anyone interested in kimono at any stage.  If I ever get to Tokyo I’ll be looking up some of their listed shops in Asakusa.  I would love to hunt for unique used/vintage kimono items in a real store and not just online.

About reddelilah

I am an LMT by day and a Kimono and Geisha lover full time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

