Birthday Komon

010

For my birthday this year my mother in law got me this nice komon.  Apparently she had it stashed away for months before hand and gave it to me a few days early because she couldn’t wait any longer.  I had paired it with my orange obi but I actually like this blue and pink set with  it better.  Having a black base though, almost anything color of obi could go with it really.  It’s nice to have another casual piece in my closet.  Even though it is thin it is also lined so I will probably wait till autumn to actually wear it out anywhere.  The pattern is tiny different colored flowers with leaves/flower petals swirling around.  I haven’t tried it on yet as I’ve been fighting a rather nasty ear infection since it’s been in my possession and my coordination sucks at the moment.  It seems like it may be a touch on the small side but I’m hoping I can make it work.

birthdaykomon 003 Update:  I just threw it on yesterday to see how it would fit.  I was right…it is a bit small but I think I can still swing it…you know as long as I don’t do any crazy dancing or anything😉

About reddelilah

I am an LMT by day and a Kimono and Geisha lover full time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Birthday Komon

  1. K.New says:

    Hi! It’s very beautiful kimono.
    I sell hair accessories with Japanese kimono fabric.
    Please come to check if you are interested in!
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/houseofpeony
    K.New

  2. Selvinas says:

    Do you live in Japan or outside? Because I always wonder when people living outside of Japan will wear a kimono or jukata…

Leave a Reply

