Kimono Challenge #13

1. How did you discover and get into kimono?

2. Your dearest kimono item(s).

3. Your most used kimono item(s), not including dressing items or undergarments.

4. Your least used kimono item(s).

5. Your favorite coordination?

6. What you like and don’t like about kimono.

7. Kimono confessions…Did you know that…

8. Your dream kitsuke items.

9. Your biggest kimono fears.

10. Your biggest kimono inspiration?

11. Your kimono collection.

12. The evolution of your kitsuke.

13. Your special kimono memory.

This particular one has plagued me for quite some time.  I honestly feel like every time I get to wear kimono is pretty special so no event really sticks out in my mind as being better than the others.  I suppose if I had to pick though there might be two situations that still make me laugh.

The first was quite a few years ago when I was just starting to build up my collection and I had gotten my very first yukata.  We were at a convention and I didn’t have a hanhaba obi so I just used the scarf I had brought with me.  Later that night I went to a panel on kimono and the lady giving it wanted me to come up so she could show people how well I had tied my obi.  She realized it was a scarf a moment later and we both laughed about it.  That moment though really gave me some good confidence about my ability to wear kimono.  The fact that I had ‘faked’ a scarf into a decent enough obi that she couldn’t tell at first made me really happy.

The second was before my husband and I were married and I had just gotten my very first Nagoya obi.  I was really struggling with learning how to tie it so my then boyfriend offered himself up to let me practice on.  I had the sudden aha moment while putting the obi on him and since then an otaiko is no sweat for me.  That situation really brought us closer together knowing that he was willing to participate in my hobby.  It also showed me a facet of his personality that I’ve greatly come to value.  I think a lot of guys might have balked at the idea of having a piece of woman’s clothing put on them.  He didn’t even care, it was just like, ‘oh this will really help you out, ok!’

 

 

About reddelilah

I am an LMT by day and a Kimono and Geisha lover full time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

