Holiday gifts

For the holidays this year I received quite a few kimono related items and wanted to share them here since I’m not sure when I may get around to actually working with them.  I am so grateful that my family is understanding and supportive of this hobby.  I feel like I will cherish each of these items all the more because of the thoughtfulness and love put into them.

001First off my husband surprised me with this lovely ito-maki, or bobbin motif komon.  I seriously felt my heart flutter when I saw it.  It has amazing long sleeves and the whole upper part of the inner lining is bright beni red!  I want to say it’s an older piece because of those two things, plus it’s a touch on the short side.  It’s in such amazing shape though so I’m not sure.  I think the weaving technique might be meisen?  Again not sure, every time I look at this piece my head just wants to explode.  I can’t wait to find the perfect obi to go with it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

006He also got me this lovely obiage/jime set.  unfortunately I couldn’t get a decent picture of it but it’s a very dark olive green color with little sakura blossoms. I always need more of these and I’ve been wanting a greenish/olive toned one for a while.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

xmaskimono 005Next my mother in law got me this beautiful homongi or visiting kimono with stylized chrysanthemum motif.  It also has patterns of lattice, mist, tachibana and a few others I forget at the moment.  While it is predominately a fall piece I could also wear this is winter and spring.  It too has longer sleeves so it looks like I’ll be on the look out for a new juban this year as well.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

xmaskimono 001Last but not least…I picked up this yukata and hanhaba set for myself.  When I bought it I didn’t realize it would end up getting to me on Christmas eve so that was a nice surprise to come home to.  I’ve been wanting another yukata set for a while and got one heck of a deal on this one.  I really like the mature feel of this set, most modern yukata are too flashy, super girly and well young looking for my taste.  That obi is pretty lush too, by far the nicest hanhaba I own.  I keep wanting to get it out just so I can touch it!

So yeah, I feel like I made out like a bandit this year on the kimono front.  Did you get any kimono goodies for the holidays?

About reddelilah

I am an LMT by day and a Kimono and Geisha lover full time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

