yamatoku box o’doom!

 

 

 

 

A few weeks ago I spent some of my tax return money on a box of twenty vintage kimono from the online vendor Yamatoku.  I had no idea what I would be getting but after seeing some of the things other Immortal Geisha members got I decided to try my luck.  It was really fun getting this giant box of kimono to look through.   I’ve had a lot going on so it has taken me some time to sort through and do some maintenance on the pieces that needed it.  Overall I was really happy with the things I got.  Only a handful of pieces I either didn’t like or were unwearable so I felt like it was money well spent.  I still have quite the stack to go through to make a decision to wash or hang out to freshen them up.  I really can’t wait to wear some of these and I now definitely need some fancier obi.

DSCN0029

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

005

This sweet little cotton komon has two super tiny pin spot stains that are unnoticeable when wearing.  Aside from that it’s in perfect condition.  I wore this over the past weekend to the JSO Spring festival.  I’ll have an update on that soon once I get pictures.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

001

I finished cleaning and ironing this piece today.  It’s a really beautiful mint green lined komon with subtle woven buildings and trees.  It’s a shame it didn’t pick up in this photograph but there is a iridescence to this piece that I just love.  Sadly my cleaning methods did not completely remove any of the stains but they have lightened and are small so I would put this piece is wearable condition.  It is also a touch on the small side around the hips but I think I can make it work.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This blue komon with fans had some staining too so I took a chance and threw it in the wash with some woolight.  The stains were almost all gone and the few that are left are so small and light they are practically invisible.  I’m so happy I was able to salvage this piece since it fits so well and had no other damage.

001

About reddelilah

I am an LMT by day and a Kimono and Geisha lover full time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

