2014 Kimono Fashion Show

Last weekend the Northwest Ohio Kimono Society hosted a kimono fashion show up in Temperance, MI.  Our Kimono de jack group went to help out and model some outfits.  It was a really fun experience and getting to hang out with so many kimono enthusiasts is always a treat.  There really were a spectacular array of outfits ranging from yukata all the way to furisode.  Unfortunately we had no male models, so no men’s wear was represented.  One of the models did bring her little girl though so we did have an example of children’s wear.  After the initial show we answered questions from the audience pertaining to kimono and it’s history.  There was also a raffle, which I was able to donate a haori to that I’ll never wear.  I feel good about it going to someone who will appreciate it.  Afterwards we got to go outside and take some photos with a nice camera set up.  Katrina, our hostess had a casual after party at her home and we spent the rest of the evening enjoying good food, drinks and new found friends.  This experience has really motivated me to try and do something similar down here in Columbus.  I’d love to see if we could get backing from JASCO and maybe get a really cool venue to do it in.  I’m probably just dreaming, but it’s a nice dream.

kimonofashionshow 010I’m not sure who provided the advertisement poster but it was nicely done.  I wanted to grab one of the smaller flyers before we left but didn’t get a chance.  There is a small newspaper article floating around somewhere about the event as well.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

10436200_864599060220880_355941413280713498_nAfter everyone walked we lined up in front of our audience to tell them a little bit about each of our outfits.  Here Quat is explaining her ‘mother of the bride’ ensemble.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

10487400_864598356887617_6142454936506457169_nAll lined up and ready to go!  I have to admit I was a little nervous.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

kimonofashionshow 028Aaaannnddd!  Obligatory foot wear shot.  I always love these since you don’t often see these little details of an outfit.  I was totally love Katrina’s lace tabi.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Group photo credit goes to Ohio Kimono.

About reddelilah

I am an LMT by day and a Kimono and Geisha lover full time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2014 Kimono Fashion Show

  1. WasteWalker says:

    Small request? I am 100% happy that you used my photos for the blog. However, could you please give me a small credit for them? It can be at the bottom, it doesn’t need to be anything huge.

    • reddelilah says:

      Of course! I take it you were the photographer that came out and did our group shots? What name/website/company would you like me to use for the credit? Also would it be possible to get my individual photos from you as well?

      • WasteWalker says:

        I was not the photographer, I am Ohio Kimono and a few of those are my photos. Those photos are on Facebook. Sorry about confusion😄

      • reddelilah says:

        Oh, it’s no problem! Sorry to have confused you with the guy. So credit to Ohio Kimono then, or Kerry Porter?

Leave a Reply

