JASCO cultural event

Personal note:  Oh my gosh!  I haven’t done a blog post since June and here it is almost the end of August!  In my defense I was having some health related issues all through July.  Everything is good now, I got some really positive news from my doctor so my outlook is much brighter now!  Also, I reconnected with an old friend from high school and we’ve been chatting a lot in my spare time, so sorry for neglecting my kimono blog for almost 2 months!  I do have quite a few updates.

 

On July 20th Quat and I did a presentation for Japan-America Society Of Central Ohio.  Please visit their website to check them out. http://www.jas-co.org.  This was the group we got to network with a bit during the JSO festival this year.  We were invited to do a short yukata dressing demonstration.  The theme of the event was Tanabata festival and there were presentations on the festival, ike-bana, Japanese traditional dance, and taiko drumming as well.  It was a nice afternoon of cultural education and our Columbus Kimono group was happy to be involved.

024

During one of Brittany’s dance pieces. Unfortunately my camera had difficulty with the lighting so a lot of my pictures came out blurry.

011

We loaned an outfit to Brittany for her dance pieces; summer weight komon with hakata obi. Quat is wearing a traditional indigo colored yukata.

 

034

This is the only picture we got of the three of us together. I wore traditional indigo yukata as well with hydrangea on it.

About reddelilah

I am an LMT by day and a Kimono and Geisha lover full time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

