Book Review: Kimonos by Sophie Milenovich

ISBN-13: 978-0-8109-9450-8

Published in 2007 by Abrams, an imprint of Harry N. Abrams, Inc.

 

I checked out this delightful little book from the library today and have to say I found it quite enjoyable.  It is chock full of beautiful photos and illustrations on nice, heavy weight colored pages.  Most images are accompanied by some sort of text, whether detailing the image or some other information about kimono.  There is  a lot of very basic information in this book about kimono; it’s construction, how it is worn, seasonality, history and the like.  I think this would be a nice book for someone who is just getting interested in kimono as I feel it’s a good  appetite wetter.  Another nice thing about this book is that it feels personal.  The author, Sophie Milenovich makes mention several times about her time spent in Japan.  In many ways it feels like a friend telling you about what they discovered on a much enjoyed trip.  While I wold not recommend this book to the seasoned kimono enthusiast, since there is no detailed information it is still a nice piece.  It is easily read in an afternoon and the information is easy to digest.  Unlike some other kimono related books I’ve read in the past this piece has an accessibility to it I find wonderful.

About reddelilah

I am an LMT by day and a Kimono and Geisha lover full time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment